Cheese Fries?? YES….I mean, NO-NO-NO, wait…Oh man!!

I’m not even gonna lie about this one.  Nope.  I’m gonna tell it like it is.

cheese-fries

I LOVE CHEESE FRIES.  There is it is.  My unadulterated confession of my unfettered love affair with food.  Specifically, piping hot, crispy on the outside, somewhat smushy on the inside french fries ~ lightly salted ~ and a big ol’ tub of melted processed cheese food…Oh, how I adore thee!!  It is the unwavering craving and imagining how delicious this oh so bad for me junk food is, that got me through countless miles of walking when I began my weight loss journey.

Now, I’m sure you are all thinking to yourselves…”cheese fries and weight loss” all in the same sentence, especially when you’re talking about getting healthy- something just isn’t fitting here.  Yeah, you’re right. But bear with me…there was a method to my madness.

Yeah…I’m sure I told you I was happy being a Couch Potato. And just a few sentences ago, I professed my undying love for Cheese Fries. See the connection there?  Okay.  No. It was a stretch.  But here’s how it worked.  When the decision was made to change my life, it meant really changing my life… and I truly am a junk food junkie.  Even now.  60 pounds later.  Every day.  I CRAVE CRUMMY FOOD.  So, I mind washed myself.  Literally…I would spend every minute of every mile I walked thinking about the foods I loved and why I could no longer have them.  I pictured myself eating my favorites, and I convinced myself that the ONLY time I’d be enjoying them was when I was thinking about them, and not when I was gobbling them down like a starving third world country child who hadn’t had a meal in days…

And here’s the crazy thing:  I LOVE HEALTHY FOOD.  Confession number 3.  Now it’s out there in the universe, and you all read it for yourselves.  Yep.  I could eat nothing but wonderfully healthy, good for me, life enhancing foods 24/7.  I totally enjoy fresh veggies and fruits.  I love nothing more than a huge salad loaded with a blend of healthy greens and grilled chicken.  Give me a smoothie loaded with kale, avocado, berries, and beets and I am all over it. Set me loose in the garden and I eat as much as I pick while I’m in there. Yep.  I am a “real food junkie”…what you see in these pics is what we grow right in our own back yard!

IMG_20140804_171533IMG_20140711_182737

Ha!  Now you know I’m crazy because I’m rambling about junk food and real food. But there IS a point. And I want to be the one to tell you that it IS possible to get over those addictions to your own “cheese fries” and to find a balance that won’t make you crazy.  I am living proof that it can be done…

Stick with me…keep following along…I’m going to share with you in the coming days and maybe a few short weeks, how I survived my food addictions and how you, too, can be a better, healthier you!  It’s all about making your days count…

~Jeanie

IMG_33288032239000